Tags

, ,

In addition to a few books that I thought his library needed, I decided to make my father-in-law a little card carrier to help spread the word about his business, Custom Wooden Workspaces.  I somehow managed to forget to take any pictures of the finished product, but you can see it in progress here.
IMG_2646

The cutout is the front of the case, to aid in removing cards. The hole below it is where the bottom half of the snap will go.

IMG_2647

His initials were printed into the cased leather using a stencil set from Tandy Leather which I can now no longer find.
IMG_2648

Some detail work with modeling spoon and specialty X-Acto knife blades brought it out in greater depth.

IMG_2649

I basically had to freehand draw this and then tool it in some using a shaded beveler and a triangular smooth stamp (this one?) for the Ws.  Don’t worry: I smoothed out that C some more before I was done.

IMG_2650

The java brown dye may be my current favorite.  This is still pretty glossy because I just dyed it, but it’s a little more subdued after drying.  It looks an awful lot like wood grain, actually, which was what I was hoping for.IMG_2651And here’s the letters and grain in greater detail.

Not pictured: the rest of the process.  I skived the creases in and then tri-folded it, with the initialed 1/3 going over the front with the cutout; the top of the snap went in between the two letters.  The logo then shows up properly on the back.  Two long, thin pieces provided a spacer on either side to give it some depth; they were glued in, and then it was all saddle-stitched.

It turned out decently.  I would do it a little differently given a bit more time and this experience.  In particular, for something this small, you really want a tool to make good, sharp creases in the leather.  Since doing this one, I have picked up an adjustable “V” gouge and am looking forward to seeing what I can do with it on similar projects.

