Tags

, , ,

I skipped out on our family’s normal Wednesday night routine to prepare for work tomorrow, which included some grocery shopping.  Since I had some extra time sans children, I decided to hit the range along the way.

Another 50 rounds of 9mm through the P229 and another 80 rounds of .38 Special through the new Ruger.  Wednesday night is the night to go–for the first half hour or so, it was just me and three bored range officers.  I should have brought more ammo.  And a rifle.

Heavy metal

When last (first, also) I fired the Ruger, I hadn’t really noticed it because it had been too long since I fired the Sig, but the trigger on the Ruger really is quite heavy.  I kind of realized it later when a buddy’s girlfriend was dry-firing it to get a feel for it (they’re thinking about adopting one) and having the darnedest time with the double action trigger.  But today when I was firing, I had noticeable trigger finger fatigue after 50 or 60 rounds.

It really blew my mind, however, when I switched to the Sig.  Double action on that is theoretically 10 pounds, but it feels lighter after shooting the Ruger (DA only today).  It seems like I just managed to think about trigger squeeze and it went bang.  [SA is even lighter, only 4.4 pounds on the Sig; sneaks right up on me.]

It’s a little annoying, but I’m shooting the Ruger decently and getting a feel for how to hold it naturally, reload, resume firing, etc.  I won’t worry about it until I’ve given it at least a few hundred more rounds to wear in.  In the meanwhile, it was fun to switch back to the Sig and get even nicer groups with relative easy.

Decent groups for me, anyway.  I’ve started shooting at 10 meters (vice the default 7 at the range), and I decided that I like it.  I don’t “center out” a target as fast, for one.  I don’t consider myself a very good shot, so it’s a little disconcerting sometimes to see other people practice with their carry pistols and make my groups look good.   Still, that’s what practice is for, right?

Fun fact about cleaning

I picked up a lead remover/polishing cloth at the local sporting goods store last weekend.  In particular, I wished to get rid of the carbon buildup on the front face of the Ruger’s cylinder.  [This sort of product was recommended both in Grant’s Tome of Wisdom and another weapons maintenance book that I have.]  Five or six bucks, and totally worth it.  It worked very well.

Interestingly, my wife came home from her Mary Kay Kult Konvention with something very similar for cleaning and polishing jewelry. Her product was a cloth basically saturated in coconut oil, but as far as we could tell, was functionally identical.  More than functionally, in fact.  I’m not saying that the lead remover cloths are just coconut oil-infused cloth, mind you, but they sure smell like it.  Good to know, just in case.  We cook with coconut oil a fair bit, so there is always some handy.

This seemed much more interesting when I started writing it in my head.  Sorry.

